timeliness

Today I am especially thankful for the timeliness of things…whatever they may be.

God provides. Always. But, only on his time. Life is, or would be, too overwhelming for us to handle well if we learned of ever blessing, trial, challenge, and event we would experience. We are not built to receive that information in one allotment. Instead, we learn and grow and expand. Always gathering more tools, if you will, to best deal with all of life’s experiences. It is absolutely uncanny—and sometimes downright frightening—how it seems that every. single. day. my devotional passage, daily bible-based email or a “random” quote/phrase I hear relates so closely to something I am experiencing.

After working from 8am until 9:45pm today, I was reflecting on how today could have improved even though it was a great day. My first thought? my reactions to unplanned situations. I grumbled. I thought and talked negatively. I even put people down. My attitude needed to and needs to change. I am in control of the way I feel and thus act and that directly affects other’s around me (…. learned that specific connection this weekend in my new book The Happiness project!) As I read one of my favorite blogs, I came across this from today’s post.

Philippians 2:14-15

Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation. Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky.

Wow. how timely?! I grumbled today. I argued internally. I was negative. I completely succumbed to today’s expectations of talking down about people and gossipping.

Dang nabbit.

Next time I am feeling negative, frustrated, grumbly, in a funk, the list goes on and on…. I will breathe, give God thanks, pray, and think of Philippians 2:14-15. It isn’t because I am blameless or pure, but because I want to shine for God. I want to reflect God’s love and hopefully pass a little love and happiness onto someone else.

Leave a Reply

